18 states, DC file lawsuit against Trump over Obamacare insurer subsidies

(Worthy News) – Attorneys general from eighteen states and the District of Columbia have teamed up for a lawsuit against President Trump’s decision to discontinue payments to Obamacare insurers.

New York Attorney General Eric Schneiderman announced Friday that New York, California, and Massachusetts would be spearheading an effort to pursue an injunction against the decision. The lawsuit, filed later in the day with the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of California shows that Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky, Maryland, Minnesota, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, and the District of Columbia have joined the cause.

The lawsuit filed by the attorneys general says that their states and Washington, D.C., “bring this action to protect themselves and their residents from the unlawful actions of the President and the Secretaries of the Treasury and Health and Human Services, and other federal officials responsible for implementing the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act.” [ Source: Washington Examiner (Read More…) ]